Senior Class Gift Fund

I can’t state strongly enough how important IPEI is to the students of the Ithaca schools. IPEI is behind so much that enriches and excites the daily experiences of so many students throughout the district.

— ICSD Teacher
  • IPEIIHSAwardtoSWISWorking with the student leadership and parents of the graduating classes at Ithaca High School, IPEI began in 2004 to encourage and administer a new tradition of Senior Class Gift Funds. Graduating students with their families have a vehicle to show their gratitude and to act philanthropically while leaving a legacy at IHS.

    As a lasting tribute to their alma mater, the Class of 2004 created an endowed fund to promote and recognize excellent teaching at IHS. Each year an outstanding new teacher will be honored who exemplifies enthusiasm and creativity in teaching.

    The Class of 2005 followed their example and began an endowment to support extracurricular life at IHS by funding an award to a student organization voted upon by the current seniors. It recognizes the Ithaca High club that makes a positive impact on student life.

    A third award, added in 2014, is given to a staff member that has worked at Ithaca High for five or more years and who has made the greatest impact on the students.

    Current seniors select the award recipients by ballot and recipients are announced at the Senior Awards Convocation in June.

    Year              New Teacher               Student Organization             Staff Award
    2004             Stephanie Vinch
    2005             Nancy Strippel            The Tattler
    2006             Jarett Powers              Habitat for Humanity
    2007             Jarett Powers              The Tattler
    2008            Todd Noyes                  Free the Children
    2009            Marie Sandusky           The Tattler
    2010             Jocelyn Lutter              Link Crew
    2011             Christopher Carver      Pennies for Peace
    2012              Leann Donnelly          Red Cross Club
    2013             Nicole Sosnoski           SWIS*
    2014             Steven Cass                 The Tattler                                  Joaquin Lira
    2015             Michael Reiff               Code Red Robotics                   Jay Barnes
    2016             Paul Heiland                 SWIS*                                      Joaquin Lira
    2017             Jonathan Shyne            The Tattler                                 Brenda Sullivan

    *Strong Women Impacting Society