IPEI Announces New Board Members and Officers

September 22, 2015
At its Annual Meeting on September 21, the Ithaca Public Education Initiative (IPEI) welcomed new board members and thanked retiring board members for their dedication and service.
“I am filled with gratitude for the vision and dedication of our retiring board members for so many years, and extend a warm welcome to our new board members,” said Executive Director Christine Sanchirico. “IPEI is in capable and talented hands for the future. I look forward to working with our board members and volunteers as we continue to partner with teachers and community members to enhance the education of every student in the Ithaca City School District.”
In 2015-16, Matthew Braun will serve as IPEI’s new president. David Lee was elected as vice president, Rayna King as treasurer, and Kevin Cartmill as secretary. Jennifer Engel will serve as past president.
The following new board members were elected for three-year terms: Janine Eng, Holly Heitzman, Rayna King, Alan McCarty, Joyce Putnam, Monica Touesnard, and David Wahl.
Retiring board members were honored with resolutions and include Julie Biehn, Kevin Brew, Terry R. Byrnes, Craig Evans, Martha Frommelt, Pat Tempesta and Karen Yearwood.  
Continuing board members include Jennifer Biloski, Ann Caren, Janis Graham, Mary Grainger, Marshall McCormick, Cheryl Mitchell, and Connie Patterson.
“I am very happy that we have such a strong group of new members and plenty of experienced IPEI board members carrying on,” said Byrnes, who retired from the IPEI board after 20 years of service. “I look forward to seeing where we all go together in the future as we dream big and continue to think outside the box.”
Brew stated: “I want to thank everyone for bringing IPEI this far, and encourage the new board members to not be limited by where IPEI is now, but to think where we can go from here. Think large, and provide the vision to the community to encourage their continued support of IPEI’s work.”    
Thanks to the generosity of the community, IPEI is able to support educational experiences for Ithaca students and teachers through its five grant programs, including the year-old Connecting Classrooms Grants—designed to encourage collaboration and innovation within the Ithaca City School District (ICSD) and positively impact and actively engage students. 

IPEI’s support also includes funds for Kids Discover the Trail!; funds for use by its affiliates (Fine Arts Booster Group and IthacaSTEM Advocates); and funds for other IPEI-managed awards and programs.
Vanessa Wagner and Alice Wu will be liaisons to the IPEI board for the Fine Arts Booster Group, and Illa Burbank will continue as liaison for IthacaSTEM Advocates. Rocio Zepp will be IPEI’s PTA Council liaison.


“IPEI’s future is bright,” Engel said. “Its strength is all the people involved and everyone we connect with as we connect school and community.” 
Carlan Gray Receives Loehr Innovative Science Teaching AwardThree Schools Collaborated for Visual Art Teacher Grant