IPEI Recognizes Innovative Science Educator with Loehr Award

September 5, 2017

loehrteacher17At the Ithaca City School District’s (ICSD) annual Convocation for all teachers and staff on Tuesday, Steven Manley, Executive Director of the Ithaca Public Education Initiative (IPEI), was joined by Dr. Jamie Loehr to present the Raymond C. Loehr Innovative Science Teaching Award to Anna Chapman of Caroline Elementary School.

Chapman has been a staff member at Caroline since 2011 where she teaches fourth grade and where she has created and leads the Caroline STEM (Science Technology Engineering Math) Club.

IPEI manages the Raymond C. Loehr Innovative Science Teaching Fund, established by the Loehr family to honor the life and teaching career of their father, on the occasion of his 70th birthday.

The Ithaca City School District identifies teachers who create innovative science learning opportunities that, according to Chief Academic Officer Liddy Coyle, “move students toward the district’s vision of every student being an engaged, educated and empowered thinker, and who strive to increase inclusion for all students in science and STEM learning.”

Mary Grover, principal of Caroline Elementary, nominated Chapman because she “puts students at the center of their learning experience. Students’ curiosity and desire to learn are continuously celebrated as students come to understand they are the ‘drivers’ of their learning. Anna’s leadership supports inclusion and innovation that mirrors the importance of a diverse and healthy ecosystem where all are needed.” Grover continued: “Last year Anna  created an afterschool STEM club during which students stayed to take part in building rockets, egg drop competitions and water boats.”

Workshop for IPEI Grant-Seekers: Getting to Yes!IPEI Red and Gold Grant supports all readers!